Telling Stories Across the Seasons

 Reconnecting to the seasons, to the natural rhythms of the year, is an essential antidote to the separation from nature that haunts contemporary living.  Traditionally, the stories told would change as the year shifted from dark to light and back again.  The Celtic year was divided by eight holy days: the two solstices and two equinoxes, as well as four days that fall roughly half way between these solar events.  Storytelling would have featured as part of the celebrations on each of these days.  Some of the stories included in our book are associated with particular seasons and we invite you to mark the passing of the year, by sharing these stories on Celtic holy days:

Winter Solstice (December 21st):

Imbolc (August 2nd):

Spring Equinox (March 21st):

Beltane (May 1st):

  • One Tree Hill
  • Stolen by Fairies
  • The Elf and the Slop Bucket

Summer Solstice (June 21st):

Lughnasagh (August 2nd):

  • The Blaeberry Girl
  • Saving the Forest
  • Margaret MacPherson’s Garden
  • Jack and the Beanstalk

Autumn Equinox (September 21st):

  • Alder Sprite
  • The Tree with Three Fruits
  • The Sleeping King
  • The Hedgehog and the Fox

Samhain (October 31st):

  • The Beekeeper and the Hare
  • Archie’s Besom
  • The Tiddy Mun
  • Ceridwen’s Cauldron
%d bloggers like this: